Adding users to your blog

When you create a qwriting.qc.cuny.edu blog, you are the only person who has access to that blog’s Dashboard. In turn, you are the only person who can post new content to the blog, or change any of its settings. If you want to share your blog with someone else, you’ll need to add him or her as a User.

There are two ways to add users to your blog:

  1. Adding users manually. Go to Dashboard > Users > Add New. If the person you’re inviting doesn’t have a qwriting.qc.cuny.edu account yet, they’ll be sent an invitation to join. If they do have an account, make sure you get their email and username exactly right. See below for an explanation of what the different Roles mean.
  2. Letting users add themselves. Go to Dashboard > Appearance > Widgets. Find the Add Users widget and drag it to your sidebar. Change the options if you want. (See below for an explanation of what the different Roles mean.) Now, anyone who visits your page and is logged into qwriting.qc.cuny.edu will be able to click on the Add Me button, and he or she will be added to the blog with the Role that you set as the default.

What do the Roles mean?

  • Administrator When you create a blog, you are the Administrator. Administrators have the ability to control every aspect of the blog, from themes to widgets to content. Don’t give someone else Administrator access unless you trust them very much.
  • Editor Editors can create content, edit content, and delete content. They cannot add users or change the appearance of the blog.
  • Author Authors can publish and edit their own content, but cannot change or delete anything that anyone else on the blog has written. Usually, if you’re adding another User to the blog, Author is the best choice.
  • Contributor Contributors can compose drafts, which can then be submitted for review by Editors and Administrators. Use this Role if you want to have the final say over what appears on the public blog.
  • Subscriber Subscribers don’t really have any permissions on your blog at all. The only situation where you’d use this Role is if you set your privacy level to “members of this blog only”, and you wanted to allow an individual to read your blog.
Print Friendly